2018 MSA Awards of Excellence

2018 was a fantastic year for Maribyrnong Sports Academy and it was celebrated in style at the Moonee Valley racecourse, when the school presented the 2018 MSA Sports Awards night .

800 families, friends and a]academy partners attended the evening which was a celebration of all the great achievements of the previous year and a welcome to our new year 7 students and their families.

A new tradition was started on the night with our new year 7 students pipped into the function by Bagpiper John Horton and welcomed by our 2018 year 12 students to a standing ovation from all at the function.

161 students were commended for their selection in State teams while 31 student athletes received recognition for their selection in Australian teams.  Those students were handed a certificate of recognition by 6 MSA coaches who represented Australia at either an Olympic or Commonwealth games.  Those coaches included Softballer Natalie Titcume, Netballer Eloise Southby, Hockey coach Andrew Smith, Badminton coach Ben Walklate, and Olympic coach Brent Vallance.


Here is a list of the individual award winners on the night.


The Sunshine and Western Region Sports Club/ MSA Citizenship award.


Awarded to the Year 9 student-athlete who best displays the MSA core values of Respect, Honesty, Community, Leadership and Determination

Winner: Massino D’Ambrosio


2018 Australian Defence Force Long Tan Leadership Award


The ADF Long Tan Youth Leadership and Teamwork Awards recognise students who demonstrate leadership and teamwork within both the school and the broader community and who display strong values, such as doing one’s best, respect for others and “mateship”, that are integral to Australian society.

Winner Year 10: Lucy French (Volleyball) and Year 12: Buku Khamis (AFL)


2018 Lynne Kosky Memorial Award


The Lynne Kosky Memorial Award is presented in recognition of the vision, courage, resilience, perseverance and contribution of former Minister for Education from 2002-2006, a period very significant to the formation of Maribyrnong Sports Academy. This award will be announced on the night.


Winner: Sarah Jones (Basketball)


2018 Back in Motion Leadership Awards

Awarded to student athletes nominated by Physical Preparation staff and ADP teachers. Awarded to individuals best displaying leadership qualities and behaviours during Maribyrnong Sports Academy activities including
ADP classes, technical training, camps and excursions. An overall Leadership Award and sponsorship voucher is presented to each year level winner. 

Winner Year 7: Emily Mifsud

Winner Year 8: Isabella Maticevski 

Winner Year 9: Abigail Thomas

Winner Year 10: Michael Cesarios 

Winner Year 11: Tully Watt 

Winner Year 12: Noah Van Gemst 


2018 Sports Director Awards

The Sport Director’s Award is presented to student athletes who have achieved excellent sporting results during the year while maintaining their life balance and academic performance. Generally these students are recognised by a combination
of academic achievements (Grade Point Average of 8 or above on a semester report in the previous 12 months is usually the benchmark) state or national sport representation and wider contribution to school life. Factors such as high workload, sport related absence from school, injury, rehabilitation and personal hardship can be factored into the selection. Nominees receive a signed certificate and the overall winner is awarded a trophy and the front cover of the following years Award program. 

Winners: Tully Watt and Reba Stewart.